Opportunities with the Erasmus+ and Erasmus Mundus Scholarships 2024

The Erasmus+ program is an expansive initiative designed to enrich the educational experiences of a diverse range of individuals, spanning from school pupils to adult learners and sports staff. It facilitates international mobility by fostering cultural exchange, enhancing skills, and broadening perspectives. At the heart of this program lies the Erasmus Mundus Scholarship, a prestigious opportunity that transcends borders, inviting students worldwide to partake in specialized joint master’s degrees.

erasmus mundus scholarships
Image by drobotdean on Freepik

Who does Erasmus+ cater to?

School Pupils

For school pupils, Erasmus+ offers the chance to spend up to one month abroad either independently or in organized groups under the guidance of their school, fostering early exposure to international experiences.


Students can seize the opportunity to study or engage in traineeships abroad, explore Erasmus Mundus, or undertake short-term youth exchanges, enriching their academic journey and global outlook.

Youth Workers and Youth Exchanges

Erasmus+ provides youth workers with professional development opportunities, offering training or networking periods abroad. Youth exchanges allow short-term experiences for young people from different countries, promoting cultural understanding and collaboration.

READ ALSO:  What You Should Know about Coca Cola Scholarship Program

Trainees and Staff

Both current students and recent graduates benefit from support in securing placements in higher education and vocational education and training (VET) abroad. Additionally, staff—both in teaching and training roles—have avenues to gain international experience or deliver their expertise abroad.

Adult Learners

Adult learners can immerse themselves in educational experiences abroad, either individually or in groups, at adult education organizations, fostering lifelong learning opportunities.

Sports Staff

Even sports staff are not left behind; they can access professional development abroad, honing their skills as coaches or in other sports-related roles.

Erasmus Mundus International Master’s Degrees

One of the eminent facets of the Erasmus+ program is the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees. These degrees, offered by multiple higher education institutions across various countries, are characterized by academic excellence and integration, attracting students globally.

Scholarships and Opportunities

Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters stands out as a prestigious international program that encompasses rigorous coursework, research, traineeships, thesis preparation, and defense. Scholarships are available for outstanding students, covering participation costs, travel expenses, visa fees, and providing a living allowance.

Duration and Degree

These master’s programs span 1 to 2 academic years, offering either a joint degree or multiple degrees issued by the consortium’s institutions, enriching the academic profile of students.

How to Apply for Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters


Applicants typically need a bachelor’s degree or equivalent learning level, meeting specified criteria and requirements outlined by the program.

Application Process

Prospective students apply directly to the institution offering their desired Erasmus Mundus Joint Master. The course catalog details the programs available and their entry requirements.

READ ALSO:  ScottishPower Scholarship 2024: Powering the Future of Energy Talent

Key Deadlines

Applications are usually submitted between October and January for programs commencing in the following academic year, with specific deadlines detailed on each master’s program website.

Participating Countries

Eligible countries encompass EU Member States and associated third countries, offering expansive opportunities for a diverse array of applicants.

EU Member States (EU 27)

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Croatia
  5. Cyprus
  6. Czech Republic
  7. Denmark
  8. Estonia
  9. Finland
  10. France
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. Hungary
  14. Ireland
  15. Italy
  16. Latvia
  17. Lithuania
  18. Luxembourg
  19. Malta
  20. Netherlands
  21. Poland
  22. Portugal
  23. Romania
  24. Slovakia
  25. Slovenia
  26. Spain
  27. Sweden

European Economic Area (EEA) Countries

  1. Iceland
  2. Liechtenstein
  3. Norway

Associated Countries

  1. North Macedonia
  2. Serbia
  3. Turkey

Additionally, various other third countries are eligible for participation in specific actions of the Erasmus+ program, subject to specific criteria or conditions. These countries are categorized into regions according to the EU’s external action instruments. The specific eligibility for each action or program may differ, and the list includes:

Western Balkans (Region 1)

  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Kosovo
  • Montenegro

Neighbourhood East (Region 2)

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Georgia
  • Moldova
  • Ukraine (as recognized by international law)

South-Mediterranean countries (Region 3)

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine
  • Syria
  • Tunisia

Russian Federation (Region 4)

  • Russia (as recognized by international law)

Asia (Region 5)

  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • DPR Korea
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam
  • High-income countries and territories: Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, Republic of Korea, Macao, Singapore, Taiwan

Central Asia (Region 6)

  • Afghanistan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan

Middle East (Region 7)

  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Yemen
  • High-income countries: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates
READ ALSO:  15 Most Affordable Universities in UK for Master’s Degree

Pacific (Region 8)

  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • Niue
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • High-income countries: Australia, New Zealand

Sub-Saharan Africa (Region 9)

  • Various countries spanning the African continent

Latin America (Region 10)

  • Various countries in Central and South America

Caribbean (Region 11)

  • Various countries in the Caribbean

US and Canada (Region 12)

  • United States of America
  • Canada

Other Regions

  • Andorra
  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • Vatican City State
  • Faroe Islands
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

Please note that eligibility criteria and participation can vary between actions within the Erasmus+ program. Always refer to the official Erasmus+ program documentation or the European Commission for the most up-to-date and accurate information regarding country eligibility.


The Erasmus+ program, including the esteemed Erasmus Mundus Scholarship, acts as a bridge connecting individuals worldwide to unparalleled educational opportunities. It fosters cultural exchange, academic excellence, and professional development, creating a global network of learners, educators, and professionals committed to enriching their lives and contributing positively to the global community.

For further information on eligibility, application processes, and participating countries, individuals can refer to the detailed guides provided by the Erasmus+ program and its associated institutions.

Note: The eligibility criteria, participating countries, and specific details may be subject to change, and applicants are encouraged to refer to the latest official documentation for accurate and updated information.

Sorry, this content is protected by copyright.