List of U.S. Universities Offering Regents Scholarships

The Regents Scholarships are the most prestigious awards offered to top-tier applicants in the United States. They are completely dependent on the academic ability and qualities of the student.

The Regents of the University of California created the Regents Scholarship Program in 1962. Regents Scholars, or Regents Scholarship awardees, will earn a stipend of up to $20,000 in addition to other benefits such as mentorship, research opportunities, and extra funds or grants.

There are several universities throughout the United States offering these scholarships. We’ve compiled a comprehensive list of U.S. universities providing Regents scholarships. Without further ado, let’s check it out.

Regents Scholarships
Photo: @freepik at

1. University of California San Diego

The University of California (UC) San Diego is one of the United States universities that offers Regents scholarships. It awards the scholarships for entering freshmen.

To qualify, students must be citizens of the United States, permanent residents, or those classified as California Dream Act students. On top of that, applicants are required to demonstrate academic excellence, such as the breadth and strength of the high school academic programs, grades, and other academic criteria.

To apply, submit the UC Application for Admission and Scholarships by November 30. If you wish to demonstrate financial need to determine whether you are eligible for a Regents need award, file your FAFSA or a California Dream Act application before March 2.

READ ALSO:  Dorrance Scholarship Now Accepting Applications from Arizona Students

For more details, click here.

2. University of California Santa Barbara

UC San Diego is not the only university in the UC network that provides Regents scholarships. Its San Barbara campus also opens up opportunities for interested students to apply to the program. Currently the award is $5,000 per year for four years for entering freshmen.

All freshmen admitted for the fall quarter at UCSB are considered for the Regents Scholarship, based on their UC Application for Admission. No additional information is required. UCSB typically offers the scholarship to students within the top two percent of admitted freshmen.

To remain eligible for their scholarship, Regents Scholars are required to maintain both a quarterly and cumulative GPA of 3.20. Exceptional situations will be reviewed by a faculty committee.

For more details, click here.

3. University of California Berkeley

UC Berkeley is another campus in the UC network that offers Regents scholarships to outstanding individuals. It specifically extends the scholarship to selected Berkeley undergraduates who stand out for their creativity, leadership, service, and strong convictions.

All students who apply to UC Berkeley are automatically considered for the scholarship. This includes California resident, out-of-state, and international students entering from high school as well as transfer students.

Scholarship award notifications are sent to students the day the Office of Undergraduate Admissions releases acceptance announcements at the end of March.

For more details, click here.

4. Brigham Young University

Brigham Young University (BYU) awards a maximum of $1,000 per semester for up to four semesters to its students under the Regents scholarships scheme. The scholarship will be applied towards tuition and fees after other state aid has been awarded to students.

Students must maintain enrollment at an eligible college/university during the fall and winter semesters. In order to receive an award disbursement, students must enroll in a minimum of 12 credits. Thus, students who receive a Regents Scholarship disbursement are required to complete 12 credits each semester, maintaining a 3.0 semester GPA.

For more details, click here.

5. University of Hawai’i

The UH Board of Regents established the Regents and Presidential Scholarships to support students with a record of outstanding academic achievement. This scholarship is open to all Hawai’i residents. Regents Scholars receive a full tuition waiver for four years of undergraduate study.

Regents Scholarships are awarded to 20 outstanding freshmen who receive an SAT total score of at least 1340 or ACT combined score of at least 29, maintain at least a 3.5 GPA in academic subjects in high school, and whose extracurricular achievements are shown to be remarkable.

To apply, applicants are required to submit their application together with the Regents Scholarship application by May 1.

For more details, click here.

6. University of the Pacific

Regents Scholarships are awarded to exceptional high school seniors who apply to University of the Pacific. You don’t have to file the FAFSA to be considered and there is no separate scholarship application.

The scholarships are determined holistically, with factors such as high school attended, curriculum rigor, commitment, extracurricular activities and obligations, leadership, and demonstrated interest all being factors. The University of the Pacific typically considers those with a GPA of at least 3.81, an SAT score of 1397 or an ACT of 31.

READ ALSO:  8 FAQs You Want to Hear About ASU Scholarships

For more details, click here.

7. University of Nebraska Omaha

Regents Scholarships are offered to residents of Nebraska that are graduating seniors of Nebraska high schools. Applicants with a minimum ACT composite of 30 and either a rank in the top 25% of their graduating class (6th or 7th semester) or a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher will qualify for the award.

The Regents Scholarship covers undergraduate resident tuition for full-time students. The award is renewable for up to four total years or until 120 attempted credit hours is reached (not including hours earned through dual enrollment or AP classes) or a bachelor’s degree is earned.

To apply, submit the Application for Admission by February 1 of your senior year. University of Nebraska Omaha will accept ACT/SAT scores through the February test date of your senior year.

For more details, click here.

8. University of California Santa Cruz

Regents Scholarships carries the highest honor awarded by the UC Santa Cruz to entering undergraduates. Award amounts for freshmen are $20,000 paid over four years and transfer students receive $10,000 paid over two years. In addition to a monetary award, scholars receive priority enrollment and a campus housing guarantee.

The scholarship is awarded in recognition of outstanding academic achievement. Scholarships are renewable for four years for first-year students and for two years for junior transfers. Students are expected to enroll in 15 units each quarter and to maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0 to qualify for scholarship renewal.

To be eligible for the Regents Scholarship you must be a U.S. citizen, an eligible non-citizen, or an international student with a valid visa.

For more details, click here.

Sorry, this content is protected by copyright.